Classical music shop


Switch to:

In association with

Ultimate Collection: Lecuona Plays Lecuona

from: Sony Classical

 : Ultimate Collection: Lecuona Plays Lecuona

Audience Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Binding: Audio CD
EAN: 0090266867127
Feature: Sony Classical
Item Dimensions: 5056025490
Label: Sony Classical
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Sony Classical
MPN: 090266867127
Number Of Discs: 2
Number Of Items: 2
Publication Date: February 11, 1997
Publisher: Sony Classical
Release Date: February 11, 1997
Running Time: 141 minutes
Studio: Sony Classical


Disc 1:
  1. Malagueña (from Andalucia [Suite Española])
  2. Andalucia (from Andalucia [Suite Española])
  3. Ante el Escorial
  4. San Francisco el grande
  5. Siempre en mi corazón
  6. Maria la O
  7. Siboney
  8. Noche azul
  9. La comparsa (From Danzas Afro-Cubanas)
  10. Danza negra (From Danzas Afro-Cubanas)
  11. Danza lucumi (From Danzas Afro-Cubanas)
  12. A la antigua (From 19th-Century Cuban Dances)
  13. En tres por cuatro
  14. Canto del guajiro
  15. La habanera
  16. Damisela encantadora
  17. Chrisantemo
  18. Romántico (From Vales fantásticos)
  19. Rosa la china
  20. Como arrullo de palmas
  21. Palomitas blancas
  22. Poetico
  23. Estudiantina
  24. Cordoba
  25. Music Box
  26. Mazurka en glisado
  27. Polichinela
  28. Gitanerias (from Andalucia [Suite Española])
  29. Aragón
  30. Valencia mora
Disc 2:
  1. La brisa y yo
  2. Devuélveme el corazón
  3. Preludio en la noche
  4. Yo te quiero siempre
  5. Pavo Real
  6. Vals de las sombras
  7. Bell Flower (From Tres miniaturas)
  8. Zambra gitana
  9. Por eso te quiero
  10. Vals azul
  11. Vals en si mayor
  12. Mueñca de cristal
  13. Mi amor fué una flor
  14. Vals en re bemol
  15. Apasionado
  16. Amorosa
  17. Ahi viene el chino
  18. Al fin te vi
  19. ¿Por qué te vas?
  20. Mientras yo comia maullaba un gato
  21. ¿Por qué te vas?
  22. Amorosa
  23. Los minstrels
  24. No hables más
  25. Dame tu amor
  26. Vals en re bemol
  27. La 32
  28. Mis tristezas
  29. En tres por cuatro
  30. Muñequita
  31. Burlesca
  32. La paloma
  33. Music Box
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
More than 140 minutes of historic recordings from the man dubbed by many "the Cuban Gershwin"! Ernesto Lecuona is indeed the greatest composer Cuba has ever produced; his works ranged from light classical to pop songs like Siboney and Malaguena that were covered repeatedly by jazz and swing bands, and this 63-track collection-boasting historic, remastered performances from 1927, 1928 and 1954, with some unreleased material-is the most comprehensive collection available.
This collection includes Ernesto Lecuona's complete 1954 recordings plus a series of 78s made in 1927-28. Ten of the recordings were previously unreleased. This is a lot of lightweight Cuban piano music to deal with at once, but it's definitely worth doing. Lecuona's music, which is having a major revival, may not be important. But it's consistently charming and entertaining. The 78s, which sound surprisingly good, reveal even more of a virtuoso than do the later recordings, but throughout we hear playing that expresses the spirit of the music extremely well. And yes, the famous Malagueña is here, sounding very sexy. --Leslie Gerber

Customer Reviews
Average Rating: none


© 1995–2012 Jos Smeets — Quixote; Last update: November 2012.