Boris Tchaikovsky

Get a $5.00 Music Credit and download a free album for your iPod® or any MP3 player!
Born: 10 September 1925 — Moscow — Russia
Died: 7 February 1996 — Moscow — Russia
Login to upload your own images for this composer.
[Be the first to write a reaction.]


Main Works

  • Suite for cello solo (1946)
  • Symphony No. 1 in four movements for large symphony orchestra (1947)
  • Fantasia on Russian themes in three movements for large symphony orchestra (1950)
  • Slavic rhapsody for large symphony orchestra (1951)
  • Sonata No. 2 in three movements for piano (1952)
  • Trio in three movements for piano, violin and cello (1953)
  • Symphonietta in four movements for string orchestra (1953)
  • Capriccio on the English themes for large symphony orchestra (1954)
  • Trio in three movements for violin, viola and cello (1955)
  • Sonata in three movements for cello and piano (1957)
  • Concerto in three movements for clarinet and chamber orchestra (1957)
  • Sonata in two movements for violin and piano (1959)
  • Suite in five movements for cello solo (1960)
  • String Quartet No. 2 in four movements for two violins, viola and cello (1961)
  • Quintet in four movements for piano, two violins, viola and cello (1962)
  • Concerto in four movements for cello and symphony orchestra (1964)
  • Partita in six movements for cello and chamber ensemble (1966)
  • Symphony No. 2 in three movements for large symphony orchestra (1967)
  • Chamber symphony in six movements for chamber orchestra (1967)
  • String Quartet No. 3 in six movements for two violins, viola and Concerto in one movement in F major for violin and orchestra (1969)
  • Concerto in five movements for piano and orchestra (1971)
  • String Quartet No. 4 in three movements for two violins, viola and cello (1972)
  • "Lyrics of Pushkin", vocal cycle for soprano and piano (1972)
  • Theme and eight variations for large symphony orchestra (1973)
  • Sonata in three movements for two pianos (1973)
  • "Signs of the Zodiac", cantata for soprano, cembalo, and strings on verses of F. Tyutchev, A. Blok, M. Tsvetaeva and N. Zabolotsky (1974)
  • String Quartet No. 5 in one movement for two violins, viola and cello (1974)
  • Six etudes for strings and organ (1976)
  • String Quartet No. 6 in one movement for two violins, viola and cello (1976)
  • Symphony No. 3 "Symphony Sebastopol" in one movement for large symphony orchestra (1980)
  • "The Last Spring", vocal cycle for mezzo-soprano, flute, clarinet and piano on verses of N. Zabolotsky (1980)
  • "The Wind of Siberia", poem for symphony orchestra (1984)
  • "Juvenile", poem for symphony orchestra (1984)
  • Four preludes for chamber orchestra (1984)
  • "Music for Orchestra" in seven movements (1987)
  • Sextet in four movements for winds and harp (1990)
  • Symphony with harp for large symphony orchestra (1993)

Author of other chamber music, music for cinema and radio statements.


Short biography

Boris Alexandrovich Tchaikovsky graduated from Moscow Conservatory in 1949. Studied on a classes of composition with Vissarion Shebalin, Dmitry Shostakovich and Nikolai Miaskovsky, on a class of piano with Lev Oborin. The Peoples Artist of USSR, Laureate of the USSR State Premium. Professor of Academy of Music after Gnessins.

His music was performed and recorded by such prominent orchestras as London Symphony Orchestra, Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra, Moscow Chamber Orchestra, Leningrad Chamber Orchestra of Early and Modern Music, TV and Radio of the USSR Large Symphony Orchestra (P. Tchaikovsky Large Symphony Orchestra), and some others, with conductors A. Gauk, S. Samosud, R. Barshai, K. Kondrashin, G. Rozhdenstvensky, V. Fedoseyev, E. Serov, V. Gergiev and by soloists G. Vishnevskaia, G. Pisarenko, M. Rostropovich, V. Pikaizen, A. Vasilieva, V. Simon, E. Moskvitina.

Many CDs and LPs with his music were issued by "Melodiya", EMI, Boheme and other.

Sources — links


Submit concert announcements for Boris Tchaikovsky


Submit an event (date and year) for Boris Tchaikovsky

Contributions by: seprocom |

© 1995–2014 Jos Smeets — Quixote; Last update: 2004-05-10 15:06:19.
composer poster ad

Composer news → rss

Submit news

Upcoming concerts →

Wed 23 Apr: Trois Miniatures Pour quatuor à cordes, Premiere and workshop by the Arditti Quartet Milton court concert hall, Guildhall School of Music & Drama (London)
Thu 24 Apr: Von Hollywood nach Pankow - Hanns Eisler und die Frauen Arnold Schönberg Center Schwarzenbergplatz 6 1030 Wien
Sun 27 Apr: Godelieve Shrama + Wouter Snoei Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ Piet Heinkade 1 Amsterdam
Sat 3 May: Melodia Women’s Choir of NYC Presents “The Poet’s Song” Church of the Holy Apostles New York
Sun 4 May: Melodia Women’s Choir of NYC Presents “The Poet’s Song” DiMenna Center for Classical Music, 450 W. 37th St., NY, NY
Submit concert

Today → (23 Apr) rss

Dying days:
(1627) Heinrich Schütz: Premiere of Dafne, in Torgau, Germany.
(1909) Milii Balakirev: Premiere of Symphony no. 2 in d minor, in St. Petersburg, Russia.
(1948) André Jolivet: Premiere of the Concerto for Ondes Martenot and Orchestra, in Vienna, Austria.
(1953) Olivier Messiaen: Premiere of Livre d'Orgue, Stuttgart, Germany, with Messiaen at the organ.
(1963) Iannis Xenakis: Premiere of Stratégie, in Venice, Italy.

Tomorrow → rss

Latest changes → rss

Mitch Leigh (17 Mar)
Jean Wiener (11 Mar)
John Carbon (4 Mar)
Pawlu Grech (3 Mar)
Luigi Nono (27 Feb)

Best visited →

Classical Sheet Music and MP3 accompaniment: download instantly at Virtual Sheet Music®
Picture of Boris Tchaikovsky.

Sheet music for Tchaikovsky

[No items found.]

Find sheet music:

(At least 4 characters; more than 1 word allowed.)
Listen to music samples on this site
Submit sound/image file

MP3s for Tchaikovsky

In association with

Search: Boris Tchaikovsky

page 1 of  10
 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10